Fair Trade Fashionista walks her first runway!

 Exciting news in the life of a little Fair Trade Fashionista like me — this weekend I was so lucky as to partake in my first all eco-friendly and Fair Trade Runway show put on by the Fashion Institute of Boston! It all happened at the Down:2:Earth Eco-Conference in Boston’s wonderful Hynes Convention Center.  

 There’s nothing like a bit of adrenaline to get you going. While it was a bit hectic behind the scenes, I wouldn’t have had it any other way. It was overall very exciting, and I can even say I had fun! The clothing was all to die for. I got to model designers such as Indigenous Design, pioneer in Fair Trade fashion and eco-friendly attire, Helen Riegle, designer of nature inspired, Fair Trade, eco-friendly and vegan handbags, and more!

 My favorite pieces to walk the runway in were Kelly Lane’s Ivy Dress, paired with the classy white Jasmine Jacket

kld105-b-3t

klj101-2t

 Photosource: www.juteandjackfruit.com

 And Tara Lynn’s own wedding dress! I felt honored to be wearing something with such sentimental value. Her wedding dress was carefully handcrafted with flowers, and sewn from all organic and sustainable fabrics such as hemp and organic cotton.  It made me feel like a woodland fairy and inspired elegance that stopped me from tripping in my slippery golden heels!

10

11

Photo source: http://www.taralynnstudio.com

Stay tuned for more detailed reports on all designers and amazing Fair Trade and Eco-friendly companies I became familiar with at Down:2:Earth Boston. I had a great time enjoying some great food, wine, people, and new environmental ideas, and can’t wait to share them all with you!

Leave a Reply

